KARIN ZASTROW

blogging about DIRECT LEADERSHIP

Direct Leadership in a macro perspective

with one comment

Just back from China where I had a meeting that put my Direct Leadership model in a new perspective.

The meeting was with Professor Yuan Ren of the highly respected and equally high-ranking Fudan University in Shanghai. Yuan Ren is Vice Director of Research Office for Humanities and Social Sciences and associate professor in the Institute of Population Research at Fudan University. A mutual friend, Linda Zhou who is senior partner KPMG Global China Practice in Copenhagen, had recently introduced him and me.

After some introductions on both sides, Professor Ren talked about his work on population research. More precisely he explained some current research on the challenges facing the one-child-generations when they meet the labour market. Everywhere in the world, we see a gap between the young people who are coming into the labour market these years and all other generation in society. However, as it turns out, the one-child-policy in China combined with the rapid economic growth of the past 20-25 years and the Chinese school system, has made this gap bigger than elsewhere. The way this shows in the labour market is a very high employee turnover and an absence of collaborative skills.

I then explained how I had developed my model because I realized that we needed a new narrative of the leadership deliverables, since the old job perception of what leaders should ”deliver” to their direct subordinates had come out of synch with modern day realities. I then explained how I see that the absence of this new narrative of the leadership deliverables cause many other leadership development efforts to be wasted. Much like if you pour a fine wine or an exquisite Chinese tea to someone without ensuring that he or she has a suitable glass or cup to collect the precious drops and to drink them from.

I do not mind admitting that when I had finished describing this, even with the passion I feel for the problem and its consequences, I felt uncertain of whether this might be of interest to someone with Ren’s outlook. However, I soon learned otherwise. Not only did he completely follow my reasoning, he also declared that he believed that my particular take on how to change to the general perception of everyday leadership could be highly instrumental in an effort to deal with the serious demographic challenges he and his faculty colleagues were trying to tackle for their country.

Will you believe it if I tell you that I felt ten feet tall when I left his office?

PS! If anyone reading this is interested in hearing more about the work of Professor Ren and his colleagues, I know that he will be speaking at a conference entitled Seeking the Dynamics of China’s Development on April 15 in Copenhagen.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great work karin

    Sent from my iPhone Jorge A Diaz Lopez

    Like

    JORGE DIAZ-LOPEZ

    April 2, 2013 at 20:44


Leave a Reply

