KARIN ZASTROW

blogging about DIRECT LEADERSHIP

What sort of leadership footprints do you make?

leave a comment »

Today my father would have been 100 years old.

Would have, because he passed away at only 59, which is little more than I am now.

A milestone like that (or in his case what could have been a milestone) always make me think. Same as decade birthdays and new year celebrations. Think about how I am living my life. How I want to live it. Things I want to do or change. What footprints I am making or want to make.

Some people do not believe they make footprints.

I know, because I used to be one. And I sort of think my father was one too. Never did realize that his mere existence and behavior impacted others.

But subscribing to that belief has everything to do with self-perception not with the reality of our lives.

We all impact other people by what we do or do not do – simply by being in their lives. A strange fact, right? The sort that makes very humble and at the same time powerful.

This applies to any one of us. Even if someone’s self-image is barely the size of a fire-ant, their footprints on someone else’s life may be gigantic.

And holding a leadership position considerably multiply those imprints.

As a leader, the sooner you acknowledge this fact, the better.

Then decide what sort of footprint you consciously want to leave.

Written by Karin Zastrow

September 15, 2013 at 16:14

Posted in Misc

Leave a Reply

